Shetland Sheepdog Rescue

Compiled by Dorothy Christiansen, American Shetland Sheepdog
Association (ASSA) Rescue Network Coordinator

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Illinois
Idaho
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Massachusetts
Maryland
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming
Canada
 What is Rescue?

Sheltie Rescues take in abandoned, lost and unwanted Shelties and attempt to find them new loving homes. All the dogs are vet-checked, spayed or neutered, and given current vaccinations. Many are fostered in loving homes that attempt to determine temperament in order to facilitate proper placement. The aim is to find the right loving home for each dog regardless of the time it takes. A nominal adoption fee is charged for each dog. A few rescues work on referrals only, putting prospective owners in touch with the people or organizations that currently have the dogs. While AKC papers are not given with the dog, each dog can apply for an Indefinite Listing Privilege number so that it may compete in all American Kennel Club performance events such as obedience, agility, or herding. Sheltie Rescue believes there is a loving home out there for every homeless Sheltie. Are you the one?   If you are a Sheltie fancier, please consider helping out with the growing need for Sheltie Rescue.  Please contact Dorothy Christiansen for information about how you can help.

Or, would you like to contribute to Rescue for Shelties? Your contribution is tax deductable.   The ASSA  has a rescue fund set up to help save our breed.  Donations of ANY size are greatly appreciated.  Please send your gift, earmarked "Rescue Fund" (payable to the ASSA Foundation) to Dorothy Christiansen, P.O. Box 819, New Lenox, IL 60451.

"Please note that the individuals and/or groups listed in the Rescue network of fanciers may, or may not be, members of the ASSA; but although the ASSA maintains this list as a public service, in no circumstance does the ASSA, its Member Club(s), individual members, or anyone connected to this web page and/or web site, guarantee or warrant the quality, health, or temperament of the dogs placed by rescue groups whether the rescue is a part of an ASSA member club or not."

Links worth visiting:

 

Rescue Network

ALABAMA

Northwest Alabama Herding Dog Rescue, www.nwalherdingdogrescue.petfinder.com

Karne Marie Bordonaro kbsm@hiwaay.net   256-740-0375


Critter Corner (East central)
Sharon Estes  estes1@earthlink.net  256-276-6177 cell

Southern Alabama Sheltie Rescue

Emily Langley   emszoo@gulftel.com  251-943-8393

ALASKA

Sheltie Rescue of Alaska

Terri Morefield/Nancy Atkinson thyla@gci.net  907-488-9443

Anchorage & Mat-Su

Donna Lindsay   dlindsay@gci.net    potd@gci.net  907-694-8427

Kenai Sheltie Rescue

Gwen Bennett   muttnpug@gci.net   907-283-5413 

 
ARIZONA

Mid-Arizona SSC of Phoenix
Bill & Annmarie Ferrell bkferrell@cox.net   480-507-7996

Dewey, AZ Sheltie Rescue
Peggy    peggyh2os@netzero.net  928-632-1350

Tucson Sheltie Rescue
Maureen Metzgern maureenmetzger@earthlink.net  520-298-9435

ARKANSAS

Northeast Arkansas Sheltie Rescue
Jeanie Baxter  jeanniebaxter@cs.com   870-935-8562

Diamond State Sheltie & Collie Rescue

Jeannette Stell   nightwoods@aol.com    501-565-2676

Marijo Nelson   funnyfarm48@juno.com   501-602-2551  

CALIFORNIA
 
Southland Sheltie Rescue, Inc. (Los Angeles)
Kathy Parsons   dkparsons@Verizon.net   562-691-6038
Judi Barry     judibarry@aol.com   562-691-8118

Southland (
San Diego)
Sarai Johnson    saraijohnson@mac.com   (619) 347-0379

Northern California Sheltie Rescue
Gale Ann Morris     sheltieroses@frontiernet.net  916-684-8615 or 916-804-2791

                               rescue@sacshelties.org

COLORADO

Northern Colorado Sheltie Rescue Association
Peggy Fulton
   yadah@prodigy.net

Colorado Sheltie Rescue, Inc (Denver)

Jenni McKernan colosheltierescue@prodigy.net  303-783-5772

                         

Pueblo Collie/Sheltie Rescue
Hope Hemperly info@pueblecolliesheltie.org  719-547-4008 

Western Colorado Sheltie Rescue (Cedaredge)  
Judy Baril ThereBShelties@cs.com   970-874-0633

Judy Harrinton  aceh@bresnan.net    970-434-2307



CONNECTICUT

New England Sheltie Rescue
Bob and Donna Vera   nesr@charter.net   860-546-6775 

 
DELAWARE

Northern Chesapeake Sheltie Rescue
Linda Isabell isabell@comcast.net   410-515-7029 hm, 410-987-1515 wk

FLORIDA

Mid-Florida SSC Sheltie Rescue
Wendy Myshrall  simbadane66@hotmail.com   407-498-3128

Sherry Lee  lindenshelties@prodigy.com    407-892-6325

Boyd Smith    LJDogLutz@aol.com    813-920-1924


Jacksonville SSC Rescue
Darla Duffey DDuffey@aol.com  904-262-5420 or 1-800-292-5420

Gulf Coast Sheltie Rescue
Jan Nickerson pack_nwfla@yahoo.com   850 626-3466 

Suncoast Sheltie Rescue (Tampa Bay Area)
April Dunford aprilshelty@email.msn.com  727-541-3269

Tallahassee Area SSA
Carla Maynor   maynor1956@earthlink.net  850-926-5199

Panama City Sheltie Rescue
Jodi Nickerson 859-722-0169  shadowcreek2@comcast.net

Sheltie Rescue of South Florida
Brenda Lux  a1k9koah@gmail.com  
754-204-1947   

Sheltie Rescue of Central Florida

Barb Davis  dillardbab@aol.com   407-719-1219

GEORGIA

Sheltie Rescue of Georgia, Inc. 

srg_info@bellsouth.net   770-926-2001 (hotline) 

Peach State Sheltie Rescue
Joan Flowers    jflowers42000@yahoo.com  770-634-7130  

IDAHO

None at this time  

ILLINOIS

ASSA Rescue National Director

Dorothy Christiansen  Lynnlea1@comcast.net  815-485-3726

Central Illinois Sheltie Rescue
Natalie Whalen  NataW@aol.com  309-663-2440
Sharon Yocom   SMYocom@aol.com 309-830-0017


Secondhand Shelties, Ltd. (Chicago)
Linda Carbon   secondhandsheltiesltd@netzero.net   630-628-8322

INDIANA

Sheltie Rescue of Central Indiana
Sue Moore   jdiffie@aol.com    317-697-0845
John Mountford    faxman@mw.net     765-342-5885 

Indiana Sheltie Rescue

Teresa Cotton   mcotton@netusa1.net  317-984-5737

Sheltie Rescue of Greater Lafayette, Indiana
Peg Barton  
rbarton@nlci.com   765 296-3980
Jane Fischer
  janef@mindspring.com   765 447-4603 


IOWA
 
Iowa Sheltie Rescue

Mike Firgard    redsheltie@mchsi.com    319-939-3776

Central Iowa Sheltie Rescue
 

Jeanette Zoss    kellshelties@att.net

KANSAS
"SheltieShack" Rescue of Kansas
Linda Kotapish   sheltieshack@bluevalley.com  785-363-7148

KENTUCKY

Heart of Kentucky Sheltie Rescue (Lexington)
Karen Evans karashome@hotmail.com  859-744-5934

Blue Grass Sheltie Rescue
Jim and Karen Ferencak   ferencak@verizon.net  859-548-3113

Eastern Kentucy Rescue, Inc.
Lisa Scalf   dscalf@mikrotec.com  606-478-4400
 

LOUISIANA

Sheltie Rescue of Louisana
Mary Jo Crawford RadandRed@worldnet.att.net   985-863-5845 

Southern LA Sheltie Rescue

Traci Selman    sheltiegirl8@hotmail.com   225-261-9877

MAINE

Downeast Sheltie Rescue
Vicki Rolls   majestyksheltie@webtv.net   207-342-5885

Kennebec Valley SSC SR
Holly Fent   shelltees@verizon.net  207-773-6677 

MARYLAND

SS Rescue Club of Southern MD
Elaine Quade   elaine.tony@erols.com   301-373-2695


Sheltie Haven Sheltie Rescue
Carol Guth    Sheltytaxi@aol.com    301-663-0635 

Northern Chesapeake Sheltie Rescue
Linda Isbell    isbelll@comcast.net    410-515-7029

SSC
of Baltimore Rescue
Donna Mills   shelttt@comcast.net  410-799-5756

MASSACHUSETTS

New England Sheltie Rescue

Donna and Bob Vera  nesr@charter.net

MICHIGAN

Detroit SSC Rescue
Pam Moore sheltiepam@earthlink.net  517-569-2023

Marilyn Runde  rundlyns@msn.com  734-451-9552

Western Michigan Sheltie Rescue
Carol Strotheide   cstrotheide@msn.com   616-453-8124

MINNESOTA

Minnesota Sheltie Rescue
Karen Marquardt   klm@mnsheltierescue.org  612-616-7477

 

MISSISSIPPI
None at this time

MISSOURI

Second Chance Sheltie Rescue (in St. Louis)
Janice Mitchell  
SheltieRescue@DogForMe.com   314-862-7838


MONTANA
None at this time

NEBRASKA

Nebraska Sheltie Rescue
Mark L Rossignol   schiprescue-ne@therossignols.net     402-466-5596 hm

cell 402-499-1842
 

NEVADA

Northern Nevada Sheltie Rescue
Pat Mahoney  walkdusty@aol.com


Southern Nevada Sheltie Rescue
Annette McNaughton    KenoCookie@aol.com  775-537-1969  or  775-764-0345

Sheltie Rescue of Las Vegas

Brenda Paul   Bshannara@aol.com   702-263-1055 

NEW HAMPSHIRE

Granite State Sheltie Rescue
Jody Abrahamson   jopavist@surfglobal.net  603-522-6370
 

NEW JERSEY
Shetland Sheepdog Placement Service of New Jersey
Aneita Frey a.frey@asdc.net   908-704-1241

Donna Coletti      908-475-8308

NEW MEXICO

Sonlight's Super Sheltie Rescue of New Mexico
Don and Kathy Schink   PastorDonNM@aol.com   505-286-0582

                                     MooCowHM@aol.com

NEW YORK

Long Island SS Fanciers Rescue
Barbara Bellini   lissr@optonline.net   631-751-8028 

Hudson Valley SSF Rescue
Leslie Maier    slmaier@frontiernet.net  845-783-6765

New England Sheltie Rescue

Karen Warren   studiokama@worldnet.att.net   914-764-8422

Southern Tier Sheltie Rescue

Melody LaChiusa   lachiump@verizon.net   607-324-5334

                         or lachiump@alfredstate.edu

NORTH CAROLINA

Triangle Sheltie Rescue of NC
Intake:  Mike Tickle   Mike@triangleshelties.com   919-606-7132
Adoption: Randy Ross   randy@triangleshelties.com     919-606-7132

Western Area Sheltie Rescue

Lane Huntsinger   marleysmom3@hotmail.com   828-259-9090

OHIO

Precious Secrets Sheltie Rescue

Cathy Tucker   pettaxi@fuse.net   513-336-0559

Northeast Ohio Sheltie Rescue
Paula Adams   AugustPch@aol.com  330-650-4846

OKLAHOMA

none at this time

OREGON

Oregon Sheltie Rescue
Barb Aulbach CALEDON01@aol.com    503-543-7556

Kathy Ettinger  kjettinger@charter.net       541-773-5295

 

PENNSYLVANIA 

Lakeside K-9 Services

Donna Eshleman  shelties4me@yahoo.com     610-317-2426

Lycoming County Sheltie Rescue

Judy and Dave Humenanski    naturebuddy@prodigy.net     570-323-7574 wk

Susquehanna Valley Collie/Sheltie Rescue Inc.

Susan Ferree   info@svcsr.org   717-766-6110

Patchwork Rescue of SE PA
Kathy Morgan DemoKathy@aol.com    610-326-9475

Reign & Hail Sheltie Rescue of PA

Ellen Felix   ReignHailRescue@aol.com    610-926-4959

Western PA Sheltie Rescue

Tammy Phaugh   tipperss@gmail.com  

 RHODE ISLAND

New England Sheltie Rescue

Donna and Bob Vera  nesr@charter.net    860-546-6775

   
 

SOUTH CAROLINA 

Upstate South Carolina Sheltie Rescue

Dr. Linda Wang    SheltieDVM@aol.com

Charleston SC Sheltie Rescue

Joy Davis   puppyluv1@juno.com   843-821-3175

Sherry Wallace   wallace@cofc.edu   843-886-8045

South Carolina Sheltie Rescue
Laney Grubbs     graph1@moore.sc.edu   803-920-0644

Kristi Wallace   kwallace002@yahoo.com   803-817-6573
 
TENNESSEE
 
Middle Tennessee Sheltie Rescue, Inc.
Ann Acuff   sheltieresque@comcast.net    615-832-7530

Fresh Start Sheltie Rescue    
Kim Fike 
kimfike@bellsouth.net   901-758-8665

TEXAS

Austin Sheltie Rescue
Sunne Wiginton    -  swig@sbcglobal.net    512-453-8094
Jennifer Steede     - jennifer_steede@yahoo.com
Fran Carr               4Shelties@PVCO.net

Dallas/Ft. Worth Sheltie Rescue, Inc
.
Becky Ramsey   rramsey810@aol.com   469-569-7102
or 24 hr line 972-994-7848

Sheltie Haven
Sigrid Mureen   sigridm@texas.net   214-327-1102
 
Alamo Area SSC
Helen Bennett, Coordinator  shanwin@earthlink.net.   (210) 653-9258

Shalaine Sheltie Rescue

Sherry E. Lindsey Shalainetx@aol.com    830-620-6661

Houston Sheltie Sanctuary
Joan Samuelson   joansamuelson@cebridge.net  281-859-0146

Linda Parlapiano  Addpar@aol.com

Connie Goedecke cgoedecke@att.net

West Texas Sheltie Rescue     

Jeannie Baxter   jeanniebaxter@cox.net      432-699-0350

UTAH
 
Sheltie Rescue of Utah, Inc
Ernie & Caren Ciampini (Ogden)   ciampini@relia.net   801-731-6420
Julene Mathews(Salt Lake)  saltaireshelties@msn.com   801-566-4037
Barb Edelberg  barbara@edelberg.name     801-942-4762

Jim Melton jim@melton.name  801-942-4762

VERMONT
none at this time  


VIRGINIA


Northern Virginia Sheltie Rescue 

Susan Bailey  intake@nvsr.org  703-912-4002

Elaine Wymer

Sheltie Rescue of Southeastern Virginia

Isma Granger jagranger@earthlink.net   757-489-4671

WASHINGTON

Seattle Purebred Dog Rescue
Lynn Erckmann flurry@u.washington.edu

WEST VIRGINIA

West Virginia  Sheltie Rescue  

Joann Jones       sheltiestar@gmail.com    304-669-4889

WISCONSIN

Southeastern Wisconsin Herding Dog Rescue
Chris Tresch rescue@wiherdingrescue.com    262-554-2048

 

WYOMING

Wyoming Sheltie Rescue
Ken and Marie Rodgers  marier@bresnan.net   307-232-8937  

CANADA

Canadian Shetland Sheepdog Association Rescue Coordinator
Michelle Rogowski cassbar@escape.ca

Canadian Shetland Sheepdog Association East Ont. Coordinator
Maureen Lynch   shelamo@sympatico.ca     613-256-7185 

South Ontario

Kathie Perron    kat.per@sympatico.ca

Quebec

Inga Paquin ipaquin@videotron.ca    450-623-0780
                     


Copyright 1998 A.S.S.A All rights reserved.
03/21/08